Stormwater Information

In March of 2003 the NYS DEC under the direction of the Federal EPA instituted Phase II of the Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewers (MS4)

The Town Of Clarkson is permitted through the NYS DEC and is responsible for the maintenance of Town owned Stormwater Systems, both open and closed, as well as ensuring that all development taking place within the town complies with these new regulations.

The Town Of Clarkson, under the requirements of the permit is required to meet minimum requirements in six different management practices. They are:

1. Public Education and Outreach
2. Public Involvement
3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
4. Construction Site Storm Water Runoff Control
5. Post Construction Stormwater Management
6. Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations

Copies of this permit and the minimum requirements required, may be obtained from the Town of Clarkson Highway Department. A copy of the current Annual Report is also on file at the Town Clerk's Office.

The Town of Clarkson has been a part of the Monroe County Stormwater Coalition since its inception in late 2000. The coalition is made up of a representative of every town, village, various county and state agencies whom are required to be permitted under the MS4 Phase II Law. Most of the towns and villages that do not fall under these requirements, are also members of the coalition. This group is broken down into various sub-committees designed to deal with each of the six different management practices listed above.

Visit the Monroe County Stormwater Coalition's Web Site